Get Started

After watching the guru, Thomas Frank’s videos at College Info Geek here are a few of things I’ve started and how they are working out so far.

How to Stop Procrastinating and Focus with the Pomodoro Technique I had no idea what the hell Pomodoro was until I saw this video.  I had a traumatic brain injury (or a few) in the past, and I have cognitive memory issues.  This means it’s hard for me to remember as well as focus.  Pomodoro has been life changing for me at this point.  Before I would just knuckle down and read non-stop, finish reading and have no idea of what the hell I just read.  Pomodoro breaks it down into work and rest sessions.  Twenty minutes work, five minutes rest with the occasional long break.  This has been amazing for me.  I actually study more, retain more information, and I’m not getting burnt out or frustrated as easily. I use the app Tide because it is really simple to use and it will also show you the data at the end of the week of what your work output was.

10 Essential Productivity Apps for iPhone and Android and iPhone Setup for MAXIMUM PRODUCTIVITY With my memory issues I rely a lot on electronics, mainly my phone.  The apps that I downloaded after watching the video were, Habitica, Todoist, and Evernote.  These so far have been the most helpful for me.  Habitica is awesome because it’s like playing a game and it’s incredibly easy to use.  I’m still getting used to Todoist, but I love the way it constantly reminds me when I’ve sluffed off, and I have things that are overdue.  I’ve had Evernote for a while, but the video helped me understand what it can do for me and how to use it a lot better.  I’m using Evernote more and being more productive with it.  The iPhone Setup video is one of the best things that has happened to me during these months of getting my shit back together.  I freed up all of the clutter and moved the apps that waste my time to a different page and buried them in their own folder, so it makes it a chore to get to when I’m trying to work.

These are just a couple of videos that will hopefully help get you started in the right direction.  I haven’t become a productive monster over night or in the past few weeks that I’ve been doing this, but it has broken some of my habits to procrastinate.  My fire has definitely been reignited, it’s a slow, steady burn, and I’m definitely better off for it.  Stop procrastinating and check out College Info Geek  There is a lot more info on that site all sorts of college hacks and methods to get more out of your time and effort.

I’ll leave you with a few motivational videos as well.

How to stop screwing yourself over | Mel Robbins | TEDxSF

Stop Waiting for Life to Happen | Peter Sage | TED Talks

Leave a Reply

