Medical Retirement PT 2

On MAR 23, 2017 my 199 was approved, and I was sent to the SFAC (Soldier Family Advocacy Center), to be counseled by one of the Human Resource Managers, when you go to this meeting make sure that you have an LES with you in the event there system is down, which is what happened to me.  Fortunately for me, I brought the LES with me so could start planning my actual separation date.  You have 90 days to separate, you can apply for 20 days of PTDY for house and job hunting through your unit if you have 70 days of leave that is all you are allowed to take and you will be required to sell the rest back.  Make sure that you call your SFAC counselor to verify this information because policies change all the time.  If you are one of those Soldier’s that doesn’t take leave, it might be a good idea to start burning some and preparing for your eventual exfil into real life.

I had about 20 days on the books which I’m taking right now to square away my life, once I get my orders (oh ya once the 199 comes back you will be waiting on your orders) when I get the orders back then I will submit a 4187 to request 20 days PTDY.  You don’t have to take it, if you just want out of the Army ASAP then take or sell back your leave and pop smoke.  On the flip side of that coin, your unit does not have to give you that 20 days.

At this briefing, I also received a working copy of my DD214.  If you have never had break in service like I had and don’t know what you are looking for, the counselor should help you.  My counselor was awesome, right off the bat he noticed that on my DD214 they had me as National Guard and not as Active.  A few key things to look at are:

BLOCK 11- make sure your MOS Q is correct.
BLOCK 12-make sure that all of your service time is correct.
BLOCKS 19A,B- make sure that your mailing address is correct, also make sure that your nearest living relative is correct.  Mine had an address from 16 years ago as well as my ex-wife as my nearest living relative.  Oh hell no.

You are going to want to go over the whole thing in depth, I pointed at those as I had almost not noticed the mistakes.  Sometimes they will leave off awards or schools, and sometimes they will add some that you did not earn.  I had a friend of mine receive the Navy Cross unbeknownst to him.  He stormed back into the office and made the admin folks take it off as he stood there to verify.

Below I’ve posted the handout that they gave me that will help give you an idea of what you have to do once your 199 comes back.  Hopefully this will help you prepare as you are going through the process.  If you have any questions, please feel free to ask.

img_3983.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

